Free Refills

overflow cup.jpg

One thing I have learned quickly through my experience in Korea is that Koreans are very traditional people. One of the more interesting things is that if you are visiting a friend’s house for tea (a staple), it is the job of the host to continue to fill your cup as it goes empty.

That is, until they feel it’s time for you to go. Then the tea stops coming.

This is their polite way of saying, “We’ve had a great conversation, we are still friends, but let’s continue this another time”… or “I have things to do, I need to go to bed.” You get the gist.

(And all the Americans said, “How do we start this!?”)

What I didn’t realize is that this is actually a tradition of a lot of cultures, including the Hebrews, which opened my eyes to Psalm 23 in a fresh new way.

Psalm 23:5 says, “You anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows.”

What the Psalmist David is saying here is… when I am in your presence, and at your table, not only do you see me as an honored guest (significance of the oil), but also…

My cup overflows. Meaning, there is never an end to you filling my cup.

Thankfully, for those who know God, we know this filling goes way beyond tea. For while God could choose to be the best barista ever (He might have even been behind some of the cups of coffee I’ve had), He is mainly in the business of goodness, grace, mercy, justice, peace, faithfulness, kindness and love.

So, of course, it is no wonder that David follows up in verse 6 with…

“I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.”

For when you sit at the Lord’s Table, you have a never ending supply of all that He is, and all that He has. And you are never asked to go! All you have to do is make your cup available to Him and watch your cup overflow with His blessings. Why would we ever leave?

So who is filling your cup? Have you accepted His invitation?

I’m thankful that we have a promise and not just a tradition. That if you sit at His table, in His presence…

Your cup will overflow…forever.

 
7
Kudos
 
7
Kudos

Now read this

Blogging for Dummies

Being new to this whole blog thing, I did what any practical person would do nowadays. I googled, “how to write a great blog.” While I could have consulted the array of self-proclaimed experts, I decided to make the clear and obvious... Continue →