Blogging for Dummies

slider_dummies_guy_930x340.jpg

Being new to this whole blog thing, I did what any practical person would do nowadays. I googled, “how to write a great blog.” While I could have consulted the array of self-proclaimed experts, I decided to make the clear and obvious choice, “Blogging for Dummies”. And although I could only get a few excerpts online without purchasing the book, I obtained the only take-away that I really needed.

“Update, Update, Update”. In other words, “Be Intentional” with this thing.

But then I realized, isn’t that the answer to how to be great at anything? To be intentional means to do something with purpose. Along with pastoring I coach basketball, and that might as well be one of our mottos. If you want to be great at basketball, you can’t just want to get there. To my knowledge, no one ever just woke up great at anything. So many people have amazing, natural, God given gifts, sure… but becoming Michael Jordan? Lebron James? … I don’t think so.

The same is true in music. I would be willing to hedge my bets that there has yet to be someone who unintentionally ended up at the New York Philharmonic. It takes dedication. It takes time. And it takes purpose.

While the Bible doesn’t come right out and demand “greatness,” it does demand living a life like Jesus. And regardless of how you feel about Him being God, the vast majority would agree He was one of the greatest individuals to ever live. 1 John 2:6 says, “Whoever claims to live in him must live as Jesus did.” As believers, we all want to be like Him, but that is often where it stops. We want to. The problem is, wanting, like wishing, often leads to being stagnant or lukewarm, and we all know how God feels about that. (See Rev. 3:16)

The abundant and joy-filled life we were all created to live comes from being like Jesus. But if you want that life, you have to stop simply wanting and start living. Live your life on purpose.

And, if nothing else, save your time on figuring out how to get “great” at stuff. The answer always has and always will be the same.

Be Intentional.

 
7
Kudos
 
7
Kudos

Now read this

An Urgent Visit

While living overseas has had its fair share of challenges, there have thankfully been just as many rewards. Perhaps the greatest thus far is that it has brought a lot of perspective on the concept of time and urgency. I know that God... Continue →