Hitting “The Wall”

brickwall.jpg

Before leaving the States for the mission field I remember sitting in a coffee shop with a friend who had served in China for over 5 years. I wanted to know everything about the Far East. What he experienced, what he felt, the good and the bad.

And I will never forget getting to the subject of “Hitting the Wall”.

That time when the honeymoon is over and you start the questions…

“Can I really do this?” or “Should I keep doing this?”
And of course… “Can I really continue to survive without Chick-fil-a?”

To be honest, I never thought that it would happen to me. I was “beyond” that. I was “too spiritual” and “dependent on Him” to allow that to happen. After all, I was a pastor…

But then it did.

The month of February was a low point spiritually, mentally, and emotionally to say the least. I can’t actually remember feeling that burdened since I started to seriously follow Christ. A spirit of anxiety. Lots of doubt about who I am. And worst of all, a lot of feelings of loneliness.

And what I realized through this season is that the tendency is to withdrawal. To back away from all relationships in an attempt to handle the situation alone. And that is exactly where the enemy wants us.

Scripture is clear that when we feel overwhelmed and burdened we can take comfort in the fact that Jesus will take on our cares and worries. And when we do that, the promise is rest for our souls (Matt. 11:28-30). When we are weak, Jesus reminds us that He is strong. When we feel like we cannot go any further, He says let me carry you. You can and will find comfort in the Lord.

And while that should be enough and is enough to sustain us, I am glad there is even more.

The apostle Paul told the church in Galatia to bear one another’s burdens. (6:1-2) In other words, we have permission and should be willing to hand over some of the hurt, troubles, and baggage we carry.

Give them over to the Lord, yes… but also share your struggles with others in the body. Let them help you carry the weight of your situation… for that is part of the Lord’s design for restoration. That is part of the purpose of God for His people. And it is one of the many reasons why we must continually gather with one another.

So the next time you “hit the wall”, don’t withdrawal.

Distribute your burdens, and climb over the wall together.

 
8
Kudos
 
8
Kudos

Now read this

Lacking Nothing

Lately my attention has been drawn to the Israelites and their 40 years in the wilderness. I can’t even begin to imagine the conditions and the difficulties; and yet at the same time I find myself oddly jealous of the necessity of their... Continue →